Storage of data
LockMyPix uses a persistent storage mechanism (Android only, iOS doesn't support that). The persistent mechanism ensures that you can uninstall and reinstall LockMyPix whenever you like without files being deleted.
Yes, but take a backup. A phone reset removes all files from your storage and may also from a plugged in sd-card.
Android: Your files persist. Reinstall LockMyPix any time to login and view your Vault.
iOS: Files of an app are deleted by default when uninstalling. Don't confirm the warning message unless you've created a backup.
Sure. Just ensure that you don't delete any file that is stored under the path
Mind: Cleaning tools are not intelligent. You may delete important files if you don't carefully check what will be deleted during a clean up.
Think carefully about what you last did on your device because files cannot automatically disappear.
- Phone reset?
- Cleaning tool used?
- Removed or resetted the sd-card?
- Removed or renamed a folder on your phone?
LockMyPix protects your files and cannot delete anything without you giving the instruction. A file cannot disappear automatically
For the case you stored your Vault on the sd-card and pulled that out for some reason, simply reimport.
Just in case you have removed a folder from your phone using a file manager, that was maybe the LockMyPix data folder. Restore that somehow if you didn't have used any LockMyPix backup option.
Mind: Due to the persistent storage method of LockMyPix (Android), all data is preserved even after uninstallation. Files cannot delete themselves automatically.
Start LockMyPix and press for a second on the 0 (zero) in the login screen. If you use password authentication, press for a second on the login button. Select the option search for files from the bottom and LockMyPix will scan for all associated files and reimport them automatically.
Mind: This works only if the files have not been deleted manually or with cleaning tools. It's useful if you have moved the data folder
.LockMyPixfrom it's original location accidentially.
You have a backup of the data folder
.LockMyPixor the sub-folders
Place the folder
.LockMyPixon your phone storage. Directly on the root - not inside a folder. Overwrite if required.
The backup is now recovered. Login to view the content. If you don't see anything after login, ensure that you have placed the data folder
.LockMyPixin the right location and log in into the Main
Final path: Storage/.LockMyPix